Meet the Sailor Scouts

Is there any one girl that appeals to you as a role model? Is there enough variety among the girls?

Discussion: What we Think

“As a young girl, I really liked Sailor Jupiter because she was so strong and sporty.Ā  So in my case there was a girl who appealed to me, and even now, I considered her the best out of the Scouts in the cartoon (in the comic, Sailor Moon becomes the most mature and strongest emotionally and she as well as Jupiter become my favourites). Although, looking back now, Mercury is really appealing because she takes her school work and responsibility seriously and she is always the voice of reason when Moon and Mars argue. I think there is quite a bit variety and most girls will probably find at least one girl whom they can relate to. The only problem in my opinion is that only one Sailor Scout (Mercury) out of five isn’t excessively boy crazy. It would have been more balance if there were two at least who were not obsessed with chasing boys.”

“My favourite was always Sailor Mars, as she was fierce and feisty. From this clip, however, I definitely see the virtues of Sailor Jupiter, who appears to be the most well-rounded. I think that the personality types, from frivolous, to serious, to feisty, to well-rounded, to feminine are very encompassing and most girls will relate to at least one scout.”

Continue the Discussion: Tell us What you Think

3 Responses to “Meet the Sailor Scouts”


  1. 1 daffiepie March 1, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    I love this post!!! mainly because I never saw sailor moon growing up but I’ve been told that I’m very much like Serena! haha! I really do like Serena, mainly because I can relate to her! or so i’ve been told :P!

  2. 2 Lucy Z. March 3, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Joanna! You guys are so awesome for including Sailor Moon in your analysis! ā¤ Like a lot of girls, Sailor Moon was my absolute favourite show growing up (and I still love it!) And I've always loved Sailor Mercury the most, even as a kid ~ I absolutaly saw myself in her, my nerdyness, my obsession with school and good grades, and just her kindness… plus she's way too cute! She's still my favourite, specially the fact that she's seretly a romantic at heart šŸ™‚ Ah, this has brought back so many good memories ~ you guys just inspired me to watch the show again! šŸ˜‰

    I think that every girl can see themselves in one (or probably several!) of the sailor scouts.. It's really impossible not to, I think they encompass all the most common personality types, ranging from sweet, shy, smart, to feisty, tomboyish and sporty, and even a bit ditzy or airheaded; in my opinion, there is a lot of variety among the girls and every girl is able to relate to one or more of them šŸ™‚

    Clearly I am biased, haha, but in my opinion Sailor Moon was and always will be the best girls' anime/tv show of all time…

  3. 3 Bushra March 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    lol I absolutely LOVED the sailor moon series as a child, and sailor Jupiter was the one i`d use as a role model, but but but I loved all the girls, I thought each of them brought something to the table. but for me sailor Jupiter just seemed to have a bit more maturity than the others. but each girl is different so i guess that comes with different virtues and flaws šŸ™‚


Leave a comment