Animal Cruelty and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

When I saw this part in the movie, I was shocked and disheartened that they would show something like this in a movie. I understand that it was all in good humour and it was used to show how Willy Wonka is mentally incoherent, I still thought it was inappropriate. As a guardian or a parent, I would make sure that my kids understand that “whipped” cream doesn’t actually happen by “whipping” cows with whips.  I also believe that older kids can actually distinguish that it isn’t true, I fear for younger kids who watch the movie without parent/guardian supervision. I definitely agree when Veruca Salt tells Wonka, that it doesn’t make sense but I also see the fantasy aspect of this movie. All in all, I don’t think this was a necessarily the right way to show “whipped” cream, but I understand that to show the character of Willy Wonka, it was necessary! – Sadaf, 20

Joanna, 23: “Truthfully this scene wasn’t really necessary as it was less than a minute in length. However, I do not think it was there for jokes, rather I think it was there to show how crazy Willy Wonka is. In the words of the little girl, whipping a cow for whipped cream “doesn’t make sense.” However, the fact that the scene is there so nonchalantly shows that our society doesn’t put much stock into animal cruelty.”

Tell us what you think! Is this a relevant scene? Would kids really understand the “animal cruelty” aspect of it? Comment away! 🙂

9 Responses to “Animal Cruelty and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”


  1. 1 Anonymous February 28, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I think it sends a bad message to kids. The cow image sends the wrong message to children

  2. 2 Atifat February 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    ALthough this was used as a fantasy aspect, it does cast a negative shadow on the movie. I dont think it was necessary to show that, and im sure that they could hv come with another way. It shows kids its ok to whip animals, which its not.

  3. 3 ipshita February 28, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I agree with the fact that as a parent or guardian I would not want my kids to watch this unsupervised because even though the scene was short, willy wonka’s dialogue, “whipped cream isn’t whipped cream at all as long as it isn’t whipped with a whip…everybody knows that” is enough for kids to end up with the conclusion that it is exactly how whipped cream is made. Afterall kids do not have that level of understanding to comprehend the humour behind it.

  4. 4 Anonymous February 28, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    this scene with the cow was just making fun on how crazy everyone goes about animal cruelty, and in my opinion is just giving something for the PETA people to freak out about. Everyone knows that tim burton likes to make his movies a bit odd to not only try to make people think in a different way but to also raise discussion and debate, and with this scene he has done just that.

  5. 5 Alyssa March 1, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Aww it was just a pun, is all.

  6. 6 Jenna March 1, 2010 at 12:09 am

    I agree with the comment about Tim Burton being intentionally inflammatory. That’s why we love him.
    And honestly the joking tone of this segment kind of makes it obvious that this doesn’t/shouldn’t happen.
    That being said, it is kind of shocking that they actually show people with whips. Some sound effects through a closed door would have done the same thing.

  7. 7 daffiepie March 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Yes it is true that Tim Burton makes movies that raise discussion and debate but I really do think that this scene is irrelevant! I agree with Ipshita, when she states that i wouldn’t let my kids watch this unsupervised, especially because crazy Wonka says that “it’s not whipped cream unless you whip the cow”. I agree that kids aren’t dumb or stupid enough to believe something like this (since it was purely a joke) but there are some who would/could end up believing in this and maybe become violent towards animals (ie whip a cow to get whipped cream, spray paint a brown cow to get chocolate milk! (again I don’t know i’m just thinking out loud!))
    🙂

  8. 8 Thanusha March 1, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Wow, I can’t believe they would show something like that especially in a childrens film. With many organizations against animal cruelty and animals being treated fairly, this would have caused an issue there. As for children, its telling them its right to abuse animals, is this really what we want to be telling them??

  9. 9 Lucy Z. March 3, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Although this scene wasn’t really necessary, I don’t see it being *that* bad, really… hopefully children will understand that this is only to portray how Willy Wonka is slightly crazy… but at the same time, the image was a bit graphic (the cow hanging there, and those sound effects! it might have been a bit much, and I agree with Jenna; the sound effects through a closed door would have provided the same effect without the slightly disturbing image of that poor cow being whipped.


Leave a Reply

